Sun. May 26th, 2019

NIDO Classic Review

Christopher Gracey NIDO Classic

Christopher Gracey NIDO Classic

Saturday, was the last Northern Ireland Darts Organisation Tournament of the year and they tried something new. The Men were split into Divisonal Competitions with a total of 75 entries. Also there was the ladies comp with 16 entries played as a round robin. They also had the last youth competition plus a girls competition. The youths also carried out a dartathon between themselves. A successful day all round!

The boys final between Travis Baur and Sean Kearns decided who was the number one and two this year with Sean winning to become the top boy in the youths. The boys final produced an 86 average for Sean Kearns as he dominated the final against Travis Baur. The top Girl this year was Cathlin Rea. The youth players for the friendly International were announced and prizes were presented to all the youths.

Next up the ladies final with Denise Cassidy beating Helen Dunn with a dominating display – Denise continues winning most of the ladies comps this year. The beaten semi finalists were Kayleigh O’Neill and Anna Madigan.

Next started the mens Comps with the Division 3 final first. This was between Nigel Peden and Christopher Gracey both of Area 9B. Christopher Gracey came out the winner with a score of 5-1. Christopher was the pre game favourite and started quickly, once he was in front he never looked back. Well done Christopher!

Next was the Division 2 comp final between Jason Lockhart Area 8 versus Gary Elliott of Area 12. The beaten semifinalists were Ron Seddon and Paul McDonald. A very tight final with Gary coming out the winner with a scoreline of 5-3. Jason went ahead 2-0 and then 3-1 but Gary Elliott came back with some great darts along the way to win 4 in a row including a cheeky 67 checkout (treble 9, double tops!). Well done Gary Elliott!

Last but not least was the Division 1 final between Area 9 player Alan McKnight and Area 2 player Neil Duff. This was a great final with Alan coming out the winner with a scoreline of 5-3. Neil Duff not entirely there with his usual high average, trying out some new darts. But all credit to Alan McKnight, he was there to punish Neil when he missed those doubles, and deserved to win this final. A deserved shout out to Gareth Chambers who put out his good mate and pre tournament favourite Kyle McKinstry at the quarter final stage.

Well done Alan McKnight on winning the division 1 final!

The general secretary Stephen Pinkerton would like to thank Margaret Cathcart, Kerry Leahy, Eamon McAllister, Jackie O’Neill, Geoff Wylie, Mary Mc Crea, Alan Wallace and Cath Spence for helping run the tournament and keeping things moving like registering players, registering scores, marking, calling games, announcements, administration, arranging games and keeping the day going. It’s the small things that people don’t realise happen in the background that are usually the most helpful. The last thank you goes to Mark McEvoy and his team for the great job on the live stream as usual.

The interviews during the stream are going down a storm and great to see our talent from the youth, mens and ladies get the recognition they deserve.

That’s the NIDO season over for now. The NIDO AGM is on the 7th May at the Antrim British Legion – every NIDO member is welcome to attend.

Skip to toolbar